Full List of Universities in Delta State (2024)

Being one of Nigeria’s wealthiest states, you can understand why there are many universities in Delta State. Delta State is one of the Niger Delta States and is home to some of the biggest oil refineries.

Even in the area of education across all levels, Delta ranks top among the other states in the country with proof of more than nine universities in Delta State. Two of these universities in Delta State are federal, another two are managed by the Delta State government, and the remaining five are privately owned. 

Below are the number of accredited universities in Delta State.

Complete List of Universities in Delta State

Universities in Delta State

Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun

The Delta state-based university was established in 2007 during a meeting of the Federal Executive Council, but it was in 2008, the university opened its doors to students who wanted to study in the school. One can say that it came as part of the government’s effort to ensure the sustainability of the oil and gas industry. 

FUPRE as they popularly known is the very first petroleum university in Africa. The South-southern university was allowed to share facilities with the Petroleum Training Institute, until 2010, when the university moved to its permanent site at Ugbmoro.

Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko

In tandem with the lack of human capital in the maritime industry, the Federal Ministry of Transport through the Nigerian Maritime  Administration and Safety Agency established the Nigerian Maritime University in Okerenkoko, Warri.

However, academic activities began in Kurutie town in 2018 when the Nigerian Universities Council gave the seal of approval. The Nigerian Maritime University started with three faculties, thirteen departments, and a school of Basic studies.

Read Also:  Full List of Best Secondary Schools in Kampala Uganda (2024)

Delta State University, Abraka

DELSU as they are famously known began as a Government Teacher Training College way before Nigeria became an independent country. It was only in 1992, that it morphed into a university that provided tertiary education for the citizens of Delta.

Presently, Delta State University has two campuses, namely Abraka and Oleh campus. The Abraka campus is the main campus of the university that houses the administrative block, the faculties of basic medical sciences, Clinical medicine, Arts, Education, Pharmacy, and Social sciences. While the Oleh campus is home to the faculty of law and Engineering.

Dennis Osadebay University, Asaba

In 2021, the Delta State government established three universities, one of these three is Dennis Osadebay University.

It is located in the former Delta State University, Anwai campus. Since its inception, it has grown to be one of the leading lights in meeting societal needs while leveraging the latest technology.

Novena University, Ogeme

If there is anything that has been a constant theme in the Nigerian tertiary education space, it has to be the competition and shortage of admission spaces. The establishment of Novena University is one of the efforts of private institutions to cushion this effect.

Admiralty University of Nigeria, Ibusa

The Admiralty University of Nigeria is unique in its creation. It was established by the mutual participation of both public and private institutions.

The public institution is the Nigerian Navy Holdings, and the private is Hellenic Education Nigeria. The major aim of its creation is to contribute lavishly to national development.

Read Also:  Top 10 Best Medical Universities in the World

The main campus of this private university is located in Ibusa, Ogwashi-Uku Expressway, Delta State. The other campus is found at Sapele.

Western Delta University, Oghara

This is one of the private universities in Delta State that was established by the Urhobo Advancement Foundation in 2007. Through this university, students and scholars who are passionate about research and development of the society are brought together.

Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo

Edwin Clark University began in 2015. This was a product of a deep-seated desire of providing a thorough academic education where values and intellect are perfectly blended with the sole objective of preparing students for national transformation.

Micheal and Cecilia Ibru University

This is also one of the private universities in Delta State that was approved in 2015. Their major drive since its creation is to churn out graduates of high excellence who can hold their own among their contemporaries from other nations. It was only in January 2019, that Micheal and Cecilia Ibru University was fully accredited.


All of the universities in Delta State are worth their salt. Those who graduate from any of these universities are sure to be the very best in whichever line of study they take.

Similar Posts