Full List of Universities in Anambra State (2024)

In this article, we will discuss the many universities in Anambra State. Hopefully, students who wish to study in any of the southeastern universities will find this useful.

Anambra State is one of the Igbo-speaking states in Nigeria that is home to many ethnic groups in Nigeria. Apart from being one of the most educated states in Nigeria, Anambra State is one of the oil-producing states in the country.

Anambra State has one of the longest rivers in the country known as the Anambra River. Currently, there are six universities in Anambra State, one is owned by the Anambra State government, one is managed by the federal government of Nigeria, and the other four, are private universities.

Comprehensive List of Universities in Anambra State

Universities in Anambra State

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

This Anambra-based university is one of the federal universities in Anambra State and in the country that is known for its teaching and research activities.

It was established in 1980 as an offspring of the then-Anambra State University of Technology. It was only in 1991 when the old Anambra State was broken into Enugu and Anambra State that the university was known as Nnamdi Azikiwe University.

Chukwuebuka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli

The history of the inception of Chukwuebuka Odumegwu Ojukwu University began in the early 2000s when it was still known as Anambra State University Science and Technology. It was in 2006, and its current name was adopted.

However, before Chukwuebuka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (COOU) morphed into the three campuses it presently has, the university had a two-campus structure that was located at Uli, the former site of the Anambra State Polytechnic, and the other site at Igbariam, which was home to the College of Agriculture, Anambra.

Read Also:  Full List of Universities in Lagos State (2024)

Presently, the Ulu campus is home to the prescience program and three faculties namely, the faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, and the Faculty of Science. The Igbariam campus has two faculties, the Faculty of Agriculture and the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

The newest campus, Alor Campus houses the University Teaching Hospital, the College of Medicine, and two faculties which are, the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Management Sciences.

Paul University, Awka

The Christian university which began in 2009 by the church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) is located in the state’s capital, Awka.

It is one of the private universities in Anambra State that offers courses and programs which lead to higher education degrees. At Paul University, the students have unlimited access to several academic and non-academic services.

Legacy University, Okija

In 2016, eight private universities were approved by the federal government through the National Universities Council. Legacy University was one of these universities. The southeastern university is located at Okija in Ihiala Local Government Area.

Tansian University, Umunya

Many private universities are established as a profit-based institutions by their owners, however, such can’t be said for Tansian University. The owner, Very Reverend Professor John Bosco Akam started the university to equip young ones with a good standard of education that prepares them for the ever-changing world.

The owner named the university after the first Nigerian to be beatified, Blessed Cyprian Micheal Iwene Tansi. Since its approval in 2007 by the National Universities Council, Tansian University has shown steady commitment to producing highly educated graduates who are relevant to the provision of solutions in this world.

Read Also:  Full List of Universities in Delta State (2024)


Like the other southeastern universities, the following universities in Anambra State have shown that they know their onions when it comes to excellent tertiary education.

Similar Posts