Complete List of State Universities in Nigeria

In Nigeria, there are thirty-six states and nearly every state has its own university which is to a large extent financed by these respective state governments. Below is a full list of State Universities in Nigeria.

Many JAMB applicants and university hopefuls are confused about schools and do not even know which university to apply to when filling in UTME forms. It gets even as bad as some not even knowing the names of most universities in the country, outside the very popular ones.

This article affords anyone with requisite information who is aiming to study in state-owned universities as it reels a list of state universities in Nigeria as of this year.

It must however be stated that a state is not restricted to just a single state university, it can own as many state universities as possible so long they meet the metrics of a standard university.

This explains why Nigeria has more than thirty-six state universities despite being a territory made of thirty-six states.

State universities in Nigeria are universities that are founded, monitored, and sponsored by the state government. Today, there are 49 accredited and functional state universities in Nigeria.

List of State Universities in Nigeria

The list of the state universities in Nigeria is given below, with the inclusion also of the locations they are situated at.

Full List of Every State University in Nigeria

Abia State University, Uturu (ABSU), Abia State

Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba (AAUA), Ondo State

Adamawa State University Mubi (ADSU), Adamawa State

Akwa Ibom State University of Science and Technology, Uyo (AKSU), Akwa Ibom

Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma (AAU), Edo State

Bauchi State University, Gadau (BASUG), Bauchi State

Bayelsa Medical University, Bayelsa State

Benue State University, Makurdi (BSU), Benue State

Borno State University, Maiduguri (BOSU), Borno State

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (COOU),

Confluence University of Science and Technology, Osara (CUSTECH), Kogi State

Cross River State University of Science and Technology, Calabar (CRUTECH), Cross River State

Delta State University, Abraka (DELSU), Delta State

Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki (EBSU), Ebonyi State

Ekiti State University (EKSU), Ekiti State

Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu (ESUT), Enugu State

Eastern Palm University, Ogboko (EPU), Imo State

Edo University Iyamo (EUI), Edo State

Gombe State University, Gombe (GSU), Gombe State

Gombe State University of Science and Technology, Gombe State

Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai (IBBU), Niger State

Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU), Imo State

The Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni (IAUE), Rivers State

Kaduna State University, Kaduna (KASU), Kaduna State

Kebbi State University, Kebbi (KSUST), Kebbi State

Kogi State University, Anyigba (KSU), Kogi State

Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil (KSUST), Kano State

Kwara State University, Ilorin (KWASU), Kwara State

Lagos State University, Ojo (LASU), Lagos State

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho (LAUTECH), Oyo State

Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta, Ogun State

Nasarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK), Nasarawa State

Niger Delta University, Yenagoa (NDU), Bayelsa State

Northwest University, Kano (NWU), Kano State

Oyo State Technical University, Ibadan (Tech-U), Oyo State

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye (OOU), Ogun State

Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa (OSUSTECH), Ondo State

Ondo State University of Medical Sciences (UNIMED), Ondo State

Osun State University, Osogbo (UNIOSUN), Osun State

Plateau State University, Bokkos (PLASU), Plateau State

River State University of Science and Technology (RSUST), River State

Sokoto State University (SSU), Sokoto State

Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa (SLU), Jigawa State

Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode (TASUED), Ogun State

Taraba State Unversity, Jalingo (TASU), Taraba State

University of Africa Toru Orua (UAT), Bayelsa State

Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University, Katsina (UMYU), Katsina State

Yobe State University, Damaturu (YSU), Yobe State

Zamfara State University, Zamfara State

Read Also:  Full List of Universities in Delta State (2024)


State universities are really reasonable options for Federal universities especially since many State universities are not plagued by the industrial strike actions of the Academic Staff Union of Universities(ASUU).

However, the latter seems to be doing better undeniably. There is a noticeable greater percentage of Federal universities in the list of the top 10 best universities in Nigeria and by implication in the top 1000 best universities in the world.

Similar Posts